Prof. R.K. Sivanappan received more than 15 awards from different organisations from India and abroad. His services (Research and Extension Works) in Irrigation Water Management, and Soil and Water Conservation have been widely commended, and he is recognized especially for his contribution in the field of Drip Irrigation, and is called “Father of Drip Irrigation in India” (Sandra Postel, Pillar of Sand – Can the irrigation miracle last, A Worldwatch Book, W.W. Norton and Company, page 290-291, 1999).

Selected Awards


The Indian Association of Soil and Water Conservationists conferred Life Time Achievement Award for his contribution to soil and water conservation research, 2019.


  1. The Indian Society of Agricultural Engineers conferred the Mason Vaugh Agricultural Engineering Pioneer Award 2016 for his contributions to his profession.
  2. Lifetime Achievement Award in Engineering Sciences (Water Technology) by the Pearl Foundation.
  3. Prof. R.K. Sivanappan was presented Life Time Achievement Award by the Tamil Nadu Agricultural University for his meritorious contribution to development of micro irrigation in India, on 1 March 2017.


He received the Soil and Water Conservation Award 2013 for his outstanding work in Water Conservation and Management in India.


Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) by the Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, 6 July 2005.


He received the Institution of Engineers (India) award for outstanding contribution to the Engineering Fraternity especially in irrigation water management.


  1. The Indian Society of Agricultural Engineers awarded a Gold medal for his outstanding contribution in the field of Agricultural Engineering in 1993-94.
  2. Prof. R. K. Sivanappan was awarded a certificate by the Indian Association for the Advancement of Science and the Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations on the World Food Day Award for his outstanding contribution titled “Thrust on Irrigation Harvesting”, published in the Hindu Annual on Agriculture, October 17,1994.


The Soil Conservation Society of India conferred the Leadership award for the contribution made on soil and water conservation.


Doctor (Honoris Causa) by Linkoping University, 1989.